2022 Boydston Group

The Block Copolymers volleyball team

Dr. Lynde's PhD celebration!

Pumpkin Carving 2020 (aforementioned pumpkins on next slide)

Group Apple-Picking 2020 :)

Boydston Group Welcome Party

Celebratory 2020 TBE Pass Picture

The Boydston Group has a Hoppy Halloween!

Boydston Group at the 2019 BGS

The Brock Copolymers Softball Team

Congrats to Brock, who discovered how to manually input his score at Boydston Bowling!

Boydston Group at Mendota Terrace

Boydston Group at Lake Kegonsa

Boydston Group at the 2019 Bubble Run

2019 Boydston Group (Photo Credits to AJ)

The Boydston Research Group is a diverse and highly collaborative team that engages in interdisciplinary research to develop functional materials at multiple length scales. We specialize in synthetic polymer chemistry, photoredox catalysis, polymer mechanochemistry, and additive manufacturing (3D printing). Some of our main goals include discovery and development of new polymerization methods, design and evaluation of mechanophores that can trigger the release of small molecules, and establishing complete chemical control over every voxel within 3D printed multimaterial systems. Collectively, we think about chemical processes and structure-function relationships from molecular-scale up through systems integration.

Recent News

  • Congrats Mark and Ruojia on winning the Hilldale Research Fellowship!

    WOW! Undergraduate researchers Mark Zhang and Ruojia Li each won a Hilldale Research Fellowship this year! Congratulations to Mark and Ruojia, and huge thanks to the University of Wisconsin for the generous support.

  • Congrats Mark on his awards!

    Huge congratulations to our team member, Mark Zhang, who received THREE highly competitive scholarships this year. They are the Ackerman Scholarship, Edward J. Panek Memorial Scholarship, and Ackerman Summer Research Scholarship. We are extremely proud …

  • Congrats Ruojia on her awards!

    Huge congratulations to our team member, Ruojia Li, who received THREE highly competitive scholarships this year. They are the Richard Fischer Scholarship and Don Brouse Memorial Scholarship, each from the Department of Chemistry, as well …

  • See other news here

Special thanks to our sponsors: